Image is not available
Image is not available

Viking Ship Season

Saturday 24th March 2018

Welcome Back
Bring on the Summer!

Image is not available
Clonmacnois Cruises

Mon 30th Apr @ 11.00 am

Wed 9th May @ 9.00 am

Sat 19th May @ 10.30 am

Wed 23rd May @ 10.30 am

Thurs 24th May @ 11.00 am

Mon 11th June @ 11.15 am

Sun 17th June @ 2.00 pm

Mon 25th June @ 11.15 am

Fri 29th June @ 11.00 am

Mon 9th July @ 11.15 am

Tues 10th July @ 10.00 am

Mon 23rd July @ 11.15 am

Tues 21st Aug @ 11.00 am

Mon 27th Aug @ 11.15 am

Tues 4th Sept @ 11.30 am

Mon 10th Sept @ 11.15 am

Mon 8th Oct @ 11.00 am


Athlone (Irish: Baile Átha Luain, meaning "town of Luan's ford")[1] is a town on the River Shannon near the southern shore of Lough Ree in Ireland. It is the largest town in the Midlands Region.[2] The town is governed by an elected town council, which appoints a Mayor.

Athlone is on the border of counties Roscommon (province of Connacht) and Westmeath (province of Leinster). Although the River Shannon forms the historic border between Roscommon and Westmeath, the Local Government Act of 1898 designated all of Athlone (Urban) as belonging to Westmeath, including areas west of the river. Much recent growth has occurred outside the official town boundaries.

The Census of Ireland 2011 recorded the population of the town at 20,153, making Athlone the most populous town in the Midlands and the 17th most populous in the state.[3]

Athlone is near the geographical centre of Ireland which is 8.85 kilometres north-northwest of the town, in the townland of Carnagh East in County Roscommon.[4]

Virtual Tour of the Ship